Roughhouse

Richard Siegal

Friday, May 24, 2019, 7 p.m., € 30 / red. € 15 , TICKETS
Saturday, May 25, 2019, 7 p.m., € 30 / red. € 15 , TICKETS
Venue: Muffathalle
Running time: approx. 80 Min.

Introduction on May 24th and 25th at 6.30 pm.

TRAILER

Language fragments burst into the audience in an extremely brutal fashion like the performers through the paper wall. In guerilla fighter outfits. Screaming. An overkill consisting of words, sentences, slogans. Does anyone here still understand anything? Verbal communication breaks down in these thunderstorms of media community language. It sinks between fake news, it crumbles into a senseless babble, worn down by attributions, bans on speaking, hysterical tirades of hate. Everyone has the right to have their own truth. Choreographer Richard Siegal wrote the text himself for four dancers in his company Ballet of Difference, located in Munich, and five actors from the municipal theaters in Cologne. A breathless crossover spectacle, brimming with off-key humor and touching moments of dance poetry.

This American choreographer presented his company Ballet of Difference (BoD) for the first time at the DANCE 2017 festival. The ensemble of soloists is diverse, in regards to origins and cultural backgrounds, but homogeneous in its perfection of dance. The dancers are also brilliant linguistically in this interdisciplinary production, which will be staged in English with German supertitles and will ingeniously inspire the actors from Cologne to dance. This is a highlight of the twinning project between the cities of Munich (where Ballet of Difference has its headquarters) and Cologne (where the piece was developed as the sixth work in BoD's repertoire) – and a new dimension in the works of Richard Siegal. Siegal is known for his aesthetic reorientations. He experiments with styles, genres, and formats. Dance, installations, community projects, new media works, and music theater productions are included in his portfolio, which he realizes with renowned artist colleagues, initially with the collective he founded in 2006, The Bakery, and now since 2016 with Ballet of Difference. Richard Siegal has received important awards for his work: the New York Dance and Performance Award (Bessie Award); the SACD Award; the German theater award Der Faust; and the Munich dance award Tanzpreis in 2013.

As ambitious as Siegal is in his aesthetic curiosity, he is as equally tenacious with the themes that are important to him. For Roughhouse he created a text surface that assembles quotes, catch phrases, corny jokes, slogans, and manners of speaking. "To roughhouse" means "to treat in a boisterously rough manner, to mishandle," and Siegal, on the one hand, pushes the codes of our postfactual society to the verge of slapstick and, on the other hand, all the way to the threshold of pain. One staggers between the Me Too debate and "artist of color" discussions, and ponders whether avatars feel pain and if that concerns us. Interspersed into this language texture is also an excerpt from Aeschylus' Oresteia; however, somehow it appears to be stolen, because suddenly the words are missing ... Cultural appropriation, post-colonialism, migration, feminism – Siegal broaches all of this in a breathtaking tempo and with performers who appear to be capable of everything. 

 

Choreographer and director: Richard Siegal
Performers: Yuri Englert, Marlene Goksch, Nicola Gründel, Stefko Hanushevsky, Jemima Dean, Seán McDonagh, Margarida Neto, Claudia Ortiz Arraiza, Diego Tortelli
Dramaturges: Tobias Staab, Stawrula Panagiotaki
Composer: Lorenzo Bianchi Hoesch
Set designers: Jens Kilian, Richard Siegal
Lighting designer: Gilles Gentner
Costume designer: Flora Miranda
Video designer: Lea Heutelbeck
Translations: Tobias Staab
Ballet master: Caroline Geiger
Sports science consultant: Gjuum
Photos: © Thomas Schermer

A coproduction of:Richard Siegal/The Bakery und Ecotopia Dance Productions, koproduziert mit Schauspiel Köln, Tanz Köln, Muffatwerk München

Supported by: German Federal Cultural Foundation, the Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich, and the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Richard Siegal is the choreographer-in-residence at Muffatwerk in Munich.

Roughhouse

Richard Siegal

Freitag, 24. Mai 2019, 19 Uhr, € 30 / erm. € 15 inkl. Gebühren, TICKETS
Samstag, 25. Mai 2019, 19 Uhr, € 30 / erm. € 15 inkl. Gebühren, TICKETS
Ort: Muffathalle
Dauer: ca. 80 Min.

Einführung am 24. und 25. Mai um 18.30 Uhr

TRAILER

Sprachsplitter brechen überdas Publikum so brutal herein wie die AkteurInnen durch die Papierwand. In Guerillamontur. Schreiend. Ein Overkill an Wörtern, Sätzen, Slogans. Versteht hier noch jemand irgendetwas? In diesen Sprachgewittern der Mediengesellschaft scheitert die verbale Kommunikation. Sie geht unter zwischen Fake News, zerfällt zu sinnlosem Gestammel, aufgerieben von Zuschreibungen, Sprechverboten, hysterischen Hasstiraden. Jeder und jedem die eigene Wahrheit. Choreograf Richard Siegal schrieb selbst den Text für vier TänzerInnen seiner in München angesiedelten Kompanie Ballet of Difference und fünf SchauspielerInnen der Städtischen Bühnen Köln. Ein atemloses Crossover-Spektakel, voll abgründigen Humors und berührenden Momenten tänzerischer Poesie.

Bei DANCE 2017 präsentierte der amerikanische Choreograf zum ersten Mal sein Ballet of Difference (BoD). Das Ensemble der SolistInnen ist divers, was Herkunft und kulturelle Prägung betrifft, aber homogen in seiner tänzerischen Perfektion. Auch sprachlich brillieren die TänzerInnen in dieser interdisziplinären Produktion, die auf Englisch mit deutschen Übertiteln über die Bühne geht und die Kölner SchauspielerInnen kongenial zum Tanzen bringt. Damit erreicht die Städtepartnerschaft zwischen München, dem Sitz des Ballet of Difference, und Köln, wo das Stück entstand – als sechstes im Repertoire von BoD –, einen Höhepunkt und eine neue Dimension im Werk Richard Siegals. Für seine ästhetischen Neuausrichtungen ist Siegal bekannt. Er experimentiert mit Stilen, Genres und Formaten. Tanz, Installationen, Community-Projekte, New-Media-Arbeiten, Musiktheaterproduktionen zählen zu seinem Portfolio, das er mit namhaften KünstlerkollegInnen umsetzt, zuerst mit seinem 2006 gegründeten Kollektiv The Bakery, seit 2016 mit Ballet of Difference. Für seine Arbeit erhielt Richard Siegal wichtige Auszeichnungen: den New York Dance und Performance Bessie Award, den S.A.C.D. Prize, den Deutschen Theaterpreis Der Faust und den Münchner Tanzpreis 2013.

So umtriebig Siegal in seiner ästhetischen Neugier ist, so hartnäckig bleibt er an den Themen, die ihm wichtig sind. Für Roughhouse erstellte er eine Textfläche, die Zitate, Schlagworte, Kalauer, Slogans, Sprechweisen versammelt. "To roughhouse" meint soviel wie "raufen, Radau machen, misshandeln", und Siegal treibt die Codes unserer postfaktischen Gesellschaft einerseits bis zum Slapstick und andererseits bis an die Schmerzgrenze. Man taumelt zwischen Me Too-Debatte und "Artist-of-Color"-Diskussionen, denkt darüber nach, ob Avatare Schmerz empfinden und was uns das angeht. Eingewoben in diese Sprachtextur ist auch ein Ausschnitt aus Aischylos' Orestie, allerdings scheint er irgendwie gestohlen worden zu sein, denn auf einmal fehlen die Worte ... Kulturelle Aneignung, Postkolonialismus, Migration, Feminismus – Siegal bringt alles aufs Tapet, in atemberaubendem Tempo und mit DarstellerInnen, die zu allem fähig scheinen.

 

Choreografie / Regie: Richard Siegal
Besetzung: Yuri Englert, Marlene Goksch, Nicola Gründel, Stefko Hanushevsky, Jemima Dean, Seán McDonagh, Margarida Neto, Claudia Ortiz Arraiza, Diego Tortelli

Dramaturgie: Tobias Staab, Stawrula Panagiotaki
Komposition: Lorenzo Bianchi Hoesch
Bühne: Jens Kilian, Richard Siegal
Licht: Gilles Gentner
Kostüme: Flora Miranda
Video: Lea Heutelbeck
Übersetzung: Tobias Staab
Ballettmeisterin: Caroline Geiger
Sportwissenschaftliche Betreuung: Gjuum
Produktionsleitung: Miria Wurm
Fotos: © Thomas Schermer

Eine Produktion von: Richard Siegal/The Bakery und Ecotopia Dance Productions, koproduziert mit Schauspiel Köln, Tanz Köln, Muffatwerk München

Gefördert durch: Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Richard Siegal ist Resident Choreographer am Muffatwerk München.