Ceren Oran in "Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran in "Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

"Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

"Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

Magazine - "The Urge"

The Urge to Dance!

Ceren Oran about the world premiere of "The Urge"

The urge to dance and to remain visible even in lockdown found an outlet in social media. People danced in their private environment, between bed and closet, in their kitchen or on the balcony. The Munich choreographer Ceren Oran uses such finds to develop her latest project, "The Urge". She translates the movement material from the net for a collective and into public space. There will be simultaneous dancing in Munich, Berlin and Cologne, and it will be streamed live.

Your piece "The Urge" will premiere during the DANCE festival. What is your piece about and what was your starting point?

I think there are many different layers in the concept behind The Urge. As the pandemic started in February and accelerated, I realized there were many different ideas and beliefs about the virus because there wasn’t a lot known about it yet. Although everyone was going through this global crisis, each individual had a different approach to it and a different relationship with the virus. Some people were very concerned, some were not believing in it as it would be a religion more than a scientific fact, some enjoyed the consequences of the lockdowns, some followed conspiracy theories, some ignored it and so on….

This is why The Urge is aimed at having a closer look at the behaviour of each individual during a collective crisis. I would like to transform the relationship between a collective trauma and each person's unique way of dealing with it into choreographic images.

Another very important layer of this piece for me is choreographing the unisono material of The Urge based on improvised dance videos posted on social media from all around the world during lockdown. They were performed in very limited spaces, like in a room, on a balcony, or in a kitchen, for movement and dance to exist. I believe that many of these videos were produced by individuals as a response to their urge to dance. I am now in contact with many of the dancers from around the world so I can get their permission to use their videos and physical material. I am excited, by bringing these improvisations to public squares via "The Urge," by providing a larger space for these dance improvisations to rework them to further liberate the movements and their bodies.


When did you feel the urge to dance for the last time?

I am not sure if I can limit feeling an urge to only dancing. Because I can dance for myself when I feel the necessity or desire the joy from it. But I feel the urge to dance as a way of socializing, using my body and movement as a way of expression, and sharing it with an audience.

So if I answer this question from that perspective, for months, every day … 


How did you do your casting for the premiere during the pandemic? Where are your dancers from?

It was an intense audition process. Usually I am not a choreographer who does casting through auditions, but casting "The Urge" demanded an open call because of pandemic conditions. There were over 500 applications and it was a huge challenge to go through each application. In a way, it was extremely inspiring to see so many amazing dancers but, on the other hand, sad to see the number of dancers who were looking for jobs.

I strongly believe an audition should be a mutual selection process. Not only should the choreographer choose the dancers, but the dancers should also choose the choreographer and the project so the creative process will be a pleasant and inspiring journey for everyone. After narrowing it down to 50 people from the open audition call, I organised a Zoom meeting where I explained my plan and shared my expectations - so that Zoom meeting was my audition for the dancers. And finally, after a specific video audition task, I finalised the 15 people who will be dancing in Berlin, Cologne, and Munich during the premiere with the help of Maayan Reiter, Rotem Weismann and Karolina Hejno.

Although everyone is based in Germany, we are from all over: Japan, Finland, Germany, Israel, Korea, Czech Republic, France, Turkey, and many other countries. And we are a big team of not only 15 dancers, but also 4 musicians, 14 members of the production team, and me.


Now, with the pandemic, performing outside of theaters has become more and more important. You have performed a lot in public spaces, long before the pandemic started. What does it mean for you to dance in public spaces?

I believe in the fascinating, contagious and inspiring power of dance. Earlier, I was looking for new ways of getting away from our conventional spaces and stages to encounter a broader audience with my choreographies. The idea of "Who is Frau Troffea?" appeared as a result of this search. After the experience of creating and performing "Who is Frau Troffea?" a public space performance means to me ... making dance accessible, taking risks, and getting in touch through the unexpected with an everyday audience rather than only offering it to a limited elite - it means exposing ourselves to a wide spectrum of honest feedback.


Your piece will be performed and streamed in three cities simultaneously. What is your idea behind that?

The idea is to amplify a feeling of "collective," that it is not only happening to us here, but to all of us in other places too. The basic unisono choreography will be the same in every city and yet, because of each public space environment, their actions will differ. And, of course, the livestreaming element creates a layer of the undeniable digitalisation that has been forced into our lives in the past months.


What do you dream of doing first as soon as the restrictions of the pandemic end?

I am having difficulty believing in such a moment. The ending of the pandemic will be a very slow transition that we will experience. And that transition is transforming us, traumatising us. But I think I will feel the urge to hug people, as much as I have the urge to dance. I think I would go out and blind hug people.

Ceren Oran in "Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran in "Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

"Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

"Who is Frau Troffea?" © Dieter Hartwig

Magazine #5 - "The Urge"

Der Drang zu tanzen!

Ceren Oran über die Uraufführung von "The Urge"

Der Drang („the urge“) zu tanzen und auch im Lockdown sichtbar zu bleiben, fand ein Ventil in den sozialen Medien. Menschen tanzten in ihrem privaten Umfeld, zwischen Bett und Schrank, in ihrer Küche oder auf dem Balkon. Die Münchner Choreografin Ceren Oran entwickelt aus solchen Funden ihr neuestes Projekt "The Urge" Das Bewegungsmaterial aus dem Netz übersetzt sie für ein Kollektiv und in den öffentlichen Raum. Getanzt wird simultan in München, Berlin und Köln, und es wird live gestreamt.
 

Dein Stück "The Urge" wird beim DANCE Festival Premiere feiern. Worum geht es in Deinem Stück und was war Dein Ausgangspunkt?

Ich glaube, es gibt sehr viele konzeptuelle Ebenen hinter "The Urge". Als die Pandemie im Februar begann und sich beschleunigte, wurde mir klar, dass es viele unterschiedliche Ideen und Überzeugungen rund um das Virus gab, weil man noch nicht viel darüber wusste. Obwohl alle von dieser globalen Krise betroffen waren, hatte jede*r eine andere Herangehensweise und eine andere Sichtweise auf das Virus. Manche Leute waren sehr besorgt, andere glaubten nicht daran, als sei es eine Religion und kein wissenschaftlicher Fakt, manche genossen die Folgen des Lockdowns, andere folgten Verschwörungstheorien, wiederum andere ignorierten es und so weiter…

Deshalb soll "The Urge" das Verhalten jeder*s Einzelnen während einer kollektiven Krise genauer betrachten. Ich möchte die Beziehung zwischen kollektivem Trauma und individuellem Umgang damit in choreografische Bilder transformieren.

Eine weitere wichtige Ebene des Stückes ist für mich, dass ich bei der Choreografie von "The Urge" von improvisierten Tanzvideos ausgehe, die während des Lockdowns überall auf der Welt in den sozialen Medien gepostet wurden. Diese entstanden in sehr begrenzten Räumlichkeiten, z. B. in Schlafzimmern, auf  Balkonen oder in der Küche, dort, wo Bewegung und Tanz existieren konnten. Ich glaube, dass viele dieser Videos als Ausdruck des Drangs zu tanzen produziert wurden. Ich bin gerade in Kontakt mit vielen dieser Tänzer*innen, um ihre Erlaubnis einzuholen, ihre Videos und ihr choreografisches Material verwenden zu dürfen. Ich freue mich sehr darauf, diese Improvisationen mit "The Urge" auf öffentliche Plätze zu bringen, ihnen größeren Raum zu bieten, die Bewegungen weiterzuverarbeiten und zu befreien.
 

Wann hast du das letzte Mal den Drang verspürt zu tanzen ?

Ich weiß nicht, ob ich das Gefühl von Drang nur auf das Tanzen beschränken kann. Weil ich für mich selbst tanzen kann, wenn ich die Notwendigkeit dazu fühle oder mich nach der Freude daran sehne. Aber ich fühle den Drang zu tanzen als eine Form des Sozialisierens, ich möchte mich durch meinen Körper und die Bewegung ausdrücken und das mit einem Publikum teilen.

Also wenn ich die Frage aus dieser Perspektive beantworte: seit Monaten, jeden Tag…
 

Wie hast du das Casting für Dein Stück während der Pandemie gemacht? Woher kommen Deine Tänzer*innen?

Die Auditions waren ein intensiver Prozess. Normalerweise bin ich keine Choreografin, die mit Auditions castet, aber bei „The Urge" habe ich aufgrund der pandemischen Bedingungen einen Open Call durchgeführt. Es gab über 500 Bewerbungen und es war eine riesige Herausforderung, die alle durchzuarbeiten. Einerseits war es sehr inspirierend, so viele großartige Tänzer*innen zu sehen, andererseits macht die Anzahl an Tänzer*innen, die nach einem Job sucht, auch traurig.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass eine Audition ein gegenseitiger Auswahlprozess sein sollte. Nicht nur die*der Choreograf*in wählt die Tänzer*innen aus, sondern die Tänzer*innen sollten auch die*den Choreograf*in und das Projekt auswählen, damit der kreative Prozess angenehm und eine inspirierende Reise für alle wird. Nachdem ich die Bewerbungen auf 50 eingegrenzt hatte, habe ich ein Zoom-Meeting organisiert, in dem ich meinen Plan erklärt und meine Erwartungen geteilt habe - also war dieses Online-Meeting meine erste Audition für die Tänzer*innen. Und am Ende, nach eine speziellen Aufgabenstellung, habe ich zusammen mit Maayan Reiter, Rotem Weismann und Karolina Hejno 15 Personen ausgewählt, die in Berlin, Köln und München während der Pandemie tanzen werden.

Obwohl alle in Deutschland leben, kommen wir von überall her: Japan, Finnland, Deutschland, Israel, Korea, Tschechien, Frankreich, Türkei und aus vielen weiteren Ländern. Und wir sind ein großes Team von nicht nur 15 Tänzer*innen, sondern auch 4 Musiker*innen, 14 Teammitgliedern in der Produktion und mir.
 

In der Pandemie sind Vorstellungen außerhalb der Theater wichtiger geworden. Du bist schon viel an öffentlichen Orten aufgetreten, lange bevor die Pandemie angefangen hat. Was bedeutet es für dich, draußen, z. B. auf öffentlichen Plätzen zu tanzen?

Ich glaube an die faszinierende, ansteckende und inspirierende Kraft von Tanz. Früher habe ich nach Möglichkeiten gesucht, mich von konventionellen Räumen und Bühnen zu entfernen, um ein breiteres Publikum für meine Choreografien zu finden. Die Idee von „Who is Frau Troffea?" war ein Ergebnis dieser Suche. Nach dieser Erfahrung bedeutet für mich ein Auftritt im öffentlicher Raum, Tanz zugänglich zu machen, Risiken einzugehen und durch das Unerwartete in Kontakt mit einem Alltags-Publikum zu treten, anstatt es nur einer begrenzten Elite anzubieten - es bedeutet, uns einem weiteren Spektrum an ehrlichem Feedback auszusetzen.
 

"The Urge" wird gleichzeitig in drei Städten performt und gestreamt. Was ist die Idee dahinter?

Die Idee ist, das Gefühl von "Kollektivität" zu erweitern - dass es nicht nur uns allein hier passiert, sondern vielen anderen an unterschiedlichen Orten auch. Die grundsätzliche Choreografie bleibt in jeder Stadt gleich, und trotzdem werden die Aktionen durch die verschiedenen öffentlichen Räume unterschiedlich sein. Und natürlich kreiert das Element des Livestreams eine Ebene der Digitalisierung, die sich unbestreitbar in den letzten Monaten in unser Leben gedrängt hat.


Was träumst Du als erstes zu tun, sobald die Einschränkungen durch die Pandemie enden?

Ich habe Probleme damit, an so einen Moment zu glauben. Das Ende der Pandemie wird ein sehr langsamer Übergang sein, den wir erleben werden. Und dieser Übergang wird uns verändern, uns traumatisieren. Aber ich glaube, ich werden den Drang danach verspüren, Leute zu umarmen, genauso wie ich den Drang danach habe zu tanzen. Ich glaube, ich würde rausgehen und Leute blind umarmen.