DANCE History Tour - zvg Thomas Betz

DANCE History Tour - zvg Thomas Betz

DANCE History Tour - aus Schur "Der Moderne Tanz"

DANCE History Tour - aus Schur "Der Moderne Tanz"

DANCE History Tour - zvg Thomas Betz

DANCE History Tour - zvg Thomas Betz

DANCE History Tour in der Villa Stuck

DANCE History Tour in der Villa Stuck

Digital DANCE History Tour

To the events and locations of Munich's dance history (1900 – 1919) - Part II - dedicated to Colleen Scott

The DANCE History Tour during the festival in 2019 was a huge success – it took its participants to the important locations of modern dance in Munich. It was here that Mary Wigman, the icon of German expressionist dance, had her debut at Porcia Palais in the Prannerstrasse. Rudolf von Laban, the most influential theoretician of the new free dance movement, founded his first dance school here. Alexander Sacharoff, the first "modern" dancer, worked with Wassily Kandinsky in the Schwabing quarter on the "gesamtkunstwerk" concept. For DANCE 2021 the choreographer and dance historian Brygida Ochaim and Thomas Betz, editor of the newspaper "Münchner Feuilleton," are organizing a new version of the popular tour and expanding it to include artistic interventions and archival presentations. This exciting city tour will move along a route between the Isar high bank and the museum Lenbachhaus.

The new dance form revolutionized the familiar aesthetic of ballet and initiated society's ideals of the social movement known as "life reform." Similar to the avant-garde theater and literature of that time, modern dance was closely scrutinized by the moral apostles and the police since its appearance at the beginning of the 1900s. Even successful artists were skeptical: Isadora Duncan's naked legs and her torso moving freely, without the constraints of a corset wrapped around it, had to be first inspected by the "Prince of Painters" Franz von Stuck before the American dancer and choreographer was allowed to perform her celebrated guest appearance at Künstlerhaus on the Lenbachplatz plaza in 1902. Other artists, such as Maud Allan, could only perform at private functions in order to avoid being censored – her piece "The Vision of Salome," where she removed her veils one by one, had to be organized as a private event at Schauspielhaus. And the Frenchwoman Adorée Villany, the notorious nude dancer, was arrested during the intermission in her dressing room at Lustspielhaus, the predecessor of the theater Münchner Kammerspiele.

Munich was also, however, not only a location of important and trailblazing guest performances, it was also the birthplace of modern dance. The first dance scene of this art form started here. While Clotilde von Derp in 1910 worked on her debut as the first German expressionist dancer, in the neighborhood of the Schwabing quarter the dancer Alexander Sacharoff was busy working with the composer Thomas von Hartmann and the painters Wassily Kandinsky, Alexej von Jawlensky, and Marianne von Werefkin on the synthesis of the arts, the concept behind the "Blue Rider" movement. A short time later Derp and Sacharoff worked together and earned acclaim worldwide as a dance duo. In 1911 Rudolf von Laban came to the city, and Wigman followed him in 1913. That same year the first history of this new art form was published in Munich, Hans Brandenburg's "Der moderne Tanz" ("Modern Dance").

During the DANCE History Tour 2021 stories will come alive and correlations will become clear: the tentative attempts and daring explorations of a new art form. Young theater scholars will lead the tour, as the participants cycle along the route from the Monacensia and the Villa Stuck, the theater museum, the Kammerspiele, the Palais Porcia and on to the Lenbachhaus.

The tour will be expanded with artistic presentations that offer a vivid insight into dance of the early modern era. With Prof. Dr. Claudia Jeschke and Ivan Liška, wo re-enact dances by Clotilde von Derp and Alexander Sacharoff together with the Bavarian Junior Ballet Munich, as well as dancers from the Munich-based Duncan-School. 

An exposition with films and photographies about Munich's early dance history will be visible in the store windows of Deutsches Theatermuseum non-stop from May 6th.

In addition, there will be a richly illustrated publication on the subject: "Der freie Tanz. München als Wiege moderner Bewegungskunst 1900–1919" ("Free Dance – Munich as the Cradle of the Modern Art of Movement from 1900 to 1919") by Brygida Ochaim and Thomas Betz, and published by Allitera Verlag. This publication will supplement and enhance the tour and will present for the first time a history of early modern dance in Munich.

DANCE History Tour - dedicated to Colleen Scott

Only a few days ago Colleen Scott rehearsed the choreography of the Rose Waltz in the style of Isadora Duncan with the young dancer Isabella Wagar from the Bavarian Junior Ballet for the DANCE History Tour. "She was so incredibly happy watching the video of the first cuts on Saturday," said her husband Ivan Liska, director of the Bavarian Junior Ballet. Colleen Scott, great dancer and pedagogue, died completely unexpectedly on May 9, the day before the premiere of the digital tour.
We are grateful that together with Ivan Liska she contributed to this wonderful project, we mourn with her husband and dedicate the digital DANCE History Tour to her: Thank you, Colleen Scott!

May 10th – May 23rd

Video on Demand

Curation, Text & Research: Brygida Ochaim, Thomas Betz
Project Management: Barbara Galli
Guides: Sabrina Kanthak, Alexandra Schildhauer, N.N.

The Dance History Tour is supported by the Cultural Department in the context of the pilot project "Lebendiges Archiv" (Concept: Dr. Daniela Rippl).

MonacensiaVilla StuckTheatermuseumKammerspieleLenbachhausJunior BallettHeinzl Bosl Stiftung   Duncan Schule  Theatermuseum Wien

Rita Sacchetto, Siamesische Tanzfantasie, Foto: Franz Grainer, München, Fotopostkarte, Bibliothek Betz

Rita Sacchetto, Siamesische Tanzfantasie, Foto: Franz Grainer, München, Fotopostkarte, Bibliothek Betz

Magdeleine G. - aus Schur "Der Moderne Tanz", 1910

Magdeleine G. - aus Schur "Der Moderne Tanz", 1910

Maud Allan - Fotopostkarte, Sammlung B. Ochaim

Maud Allan - Fotopostkarte, Sammlung B. Ochaim

DANCE History Tour in der Villa Stuck

DANCE History Tour in der Villa Stuck

Digitale DANCE History Tour

Zu Ereignissen und Orten der Münchner Tanzgeschichte (1900–1919) - Teil II - gewidmet Colleen Scott

Mit großem Erfolg startete die DANCE History Tour beim Festival 2019 zu wichtigen Schauplätzen des modernen Tanzes in München. Hier debütierte Mary Wigman, die Ikone des deutschen Ausdruckstanzes, im Porcia-Palais an der Prannerstraße. Rudolf von Laban, einflussreichster Theoretiker des neuen, „freien“ Tanzes, gründete hier seine erste Schule. Alexander Sacharoff, der erste „moderne“ Tänzer, arbeitete mit Wassily Kandinsky in Schwabing an der Idee des Gesamtkunstwerks. Für DANCE 2021 haben die Choreografin und Tanzhistorikerin Brygida Ochaim und Thomas Betz, Redakteur des Münchner Feuilleton, die beliebte Tour neu aufgelegt und um künstlerische Interventionen und Archivpräsentationen erweitert. Eine spannende Stadttour zwischen Isarhochufer und Lenbachhaus.

Der neue Tanz revolutionierte die aus dem Ballett bekannte Ästhetik und versetzte die gesellschaftlichen Ideale der Lebensreform in Bewegung. Wie das avantgardistische Theater und die Literatur der Zeit stand auch der moderne Tanz seit seinem Erscheinen Anfang 1900 unter moralischer und polizeilicher Beobachtung. Selbst die arrivierten Künstler waren skeptisch: Die nackten Beine der Isadora Duncan und ihr frei sich bewegender, nicht von einem Korsett umspannter Oberkörper mussten erst vom Malerfürsten Franz von Stuck inspiziert werden, bevor die amerikanische Tänzerin und Choreografin im Künstlerhaus am Lenbachplatz zu ihrem dann bejubelten Gastspiel im Jahr 1902 antreten durfte. Andere wie Maud Allan konnten nur in geschlossener Gesellschaft auftreten, um der Zensur zu entgehen – für ihr Stück The Vision of Salome, die sich Schleier um Schleier entledigte, musste im Schauspielhaus eine private Veranstaltung organisiert werden. Und die als Nackttänzerin berüchtigte Französin Adorée Villany wurde in der Pause aus der Garderobe im Lustspielhaus, dem Vorläufer der Münchner Kammerspiele, heraus verhaftet.

München war aber nicht nur ein Ort wichtiger und bahnbrechender Gastspiele, sondern auch die Geburtsstätte des modernen Tanzes. Hier entwickelte sich die erste freie Szene dieser neuen Kunst. Während Clotilde von Derp 1910 an ihrem Debüt als erste deutsche Ausdruckstänzerin feilte, arbeitete in der Schwabinger Nachbarschaft der Tänzer Alexander Sacharoff mit dem Komponisten Thomas von Hartmann und den Maler*innen Wassily Kandinsky, Alexej von Jawlensky und Marianne von Werefkin an der Synthese der Künste, der Idee des „Blauen Reiter“. Wenig später finden sich Derp und Sacharoff als weltweit gefeiertes Tanzpaar zusammen. Ab 1910 ist Rudolf von Laban in der Stadt, Wigman folgt ihm 1913. Im gleichen Jahr erscheint mit Hans Brandenburgs Der moderne Tanz in München die erste Geschichte dieser neuen Kunst.

Bei der DANCE History Tour 2021 werden Geschichten lebendig und Zusammenhänge deutlich: die tastenden Versuche und kühnen Explorationen einer neuen Kunst. Geführt von jungen Theaterwissenschaftler*innen, erradelt man sich die Strecke von der Monacensia und der Villa Stuck über das Theatermuseum, die Kammerspiele und das Porcia-Palais bis zum Lenbachhaus.

Künstlerische Demonstrationen erweitern die Tour und geben einen lebendigen Eindruck vom Tanz der frühen Moderne. Mit Prof. Dr. Claudia Jeschke und Ivan Liška, die mit dem Bayerischen Junior Ballett München Tänze der Sacharoffs re-enacten, sowie Tänzer*innen der Münchner Elizabeth Duncan-Schule.

Eine Ausstellung mit Filmen und Fotografien zur frühen Münchner Tanzgeschichte wird ab dem 6. Mai in den Schaufenstern des Deutschen Theatermuseums jederzeit zu sehen sein. 

Außerdem wird eine reich illustrierte Publikation zum Thema erscheinen: Der freie Tanz. München als Wiege moderner Bewegungskunst 1900–1919 von Brygida Ochaim und Thomas Betz erscheint beim Allitera Verlag. Die Publikation ergänzt und vertieft die Tour und legt erstmals eine Geschichte des frühen modernen Tanzes in München vor.

 

DANCE History Tour - gewidmet Colleen Scott

Colleen Scott studierte noch vor wenigen Tagen die Choreografie des Rosenwalzers im Stile Isadora Duncans für die junge Tänzerin Isabella Wagar vom Bayerischen Junior Ballett für die DANCE History Tour ein. Sie war überglücklich, den ersten Entwurf des Films im Anschluss an die Dreharbeiten in der Villa Stuck zu sehen, wie ihr Ehemann Ivan Liska, Direktor des Bayerischen Junior Balletts, mitteilte. Die große Tänzerin und Pädagogin verstarb auf tragische Weise völlig unerwartet am 9. Mai, dem Tag vor der Premiere der digitalen Tour.
Wir sind dankbar, dass sie an der Seite von Ivan Liska zu diesem wundervollen Projekt beitrug, trauern mit ihrem Lebenspartner und widmen ihr die digitale DANCE History Tour - danke, Colleen Scott!

10. – 23. Mai

Video on Demand

Kuration, Text & Recherche: Brygida Ochaim, Thomas Betz
Projektleitung: Barbara Galli
Guides: Sabrina Kanthak, Alexandra Schildhauer, N.N.

Die Dance History Tour wird im Kontext des Pilotprojekts "Lebendiges Archiv" (Konzept: Dr. Daniela Rippl) des Kulturreferats gefördert.

MonacensiaVilla StuckTheatermuseumKammerspieleLenbachhausJunior BallettHeinzl Bosl Stiftung  Duncan Schule  Theatermuseum Wien