Tobias Staab: "Trans Corporal Formations" - Film Stills

Tobias Staab: "Trans Corporal Formations" - Film Stills

Cancelled! Tobias Staab

Trans Corporal Formations (World Premiere)

What long-term effects will the Covid-19 pandemic have on how we use and see our bodies can only be vaguely discerned. The legitimate fear of infection, the general anxiety of being touched, the vibrant visions of invasive viruses and mutations are already beginning to show.

The curator, dramaturge, and artist Tobias Staab developed with the dancers Ballet of Difference the video installation "Trans Corporal Formations," whichfocusses both on the avoidance of contact and extreme closeness and hermetic bodies, and on the other hand assimilations. With this project Tobias Staab is searching above all for the transformative potentials of dancing bodies. Moving through different forms the body appears as a utopian location, where the difference of a binary structured sexuality dissolves precisely like the boundaries between humanness and non-humanness, between analogue reality and virtual reality.

The individual dancers appear to be isolated from one another on each one of the five screens. Togetherness, interaction, and touching are only possible in the realm of the digital, which in this manner becomes an essential part of the choreography. The sounds that were generated by the dancers' bodies were recorded by the Munich-based composer Benedikt Brachtel and "scaled up" acoustically in order to arrange them into a "musical collage of the body." (Tobias Staab)

Tobias Staab developed the concept of "Trans Corporal Formations" in close collaboration with the set designer Nadja Sofie Eller. The special dimension of physicality was created by the surreal costumes designed by Annika Lu Hermann, which then were re-enforced digitally by an algorithm (timewarp choreography) developed by the artist Michael Saup. The camera was operated by the Munich-based video artist Florian Schaumberger.

As a specialist in the interface between experimental electronic music, dance, installation art, and performative art, Staab has launched and curated numerous programs and festivals (Ruhrtriennale; Ritournelle; Noise Signal Silence; Panta Rhei; Bauhaus Club 2.019: Hyper.Culture; and Dive Festival für immersive Künste). He founded with the choreographer Richard Siegal the dance company Ballet of Difference in 2016. He has been working since 2019 as a director between performance, dance, and film. "Trans Corporal Formations" makes it possible to immerse oneself in audio-visual portrayals of the dancing body – transformed through pixels and glitches (short-term disturbances) and made audible in an immersive sound space.

Monday, May 10, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Tuesday, May 11, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Wednesday, May 12, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Thursday, May 13, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Friday, May 14, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Saturday, May 15, 2021, 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.

 

Direction, Editing, Concept: Tobias Staab
Choreography: Tobias Staab in Zusammenarbeit mit den Tänzer*innen von Richard Siegal / Ballet of Difference
Scenography and Concept: Nadja Sofie Eller
Costumes: Annika Lu Hermann
Camera: Florian Schaumberger
Lighting: Jan Steinfatt
Music: Benedikt Brachtel
Timewarp Choreography: Michael Saup 
Dancers: Black Pearl De Almeida Lima, Livia Gil, Andrea Mocciardini, Evan Supple. Long Zou

A co-production of DANCE, Ballet of Difference, Muffatwerk München, and Schauspiel Köln
Funded by the Department of Arts and Culture, the City of Munich

  BoDSchauspiel Köln    Kulturreferat München Muffatwerk

Tobias Staab: "Trans Corporal Formations" - Film Stills

Tobias Staab: "Trans Corporal Formations" - Film Stills

Tobias Staab

Trans Corporal Formations (UA)

Welche Auswirkungen die Covid-19-Pandemie auf den Umgang mit Körpern langfristig haben wird, das lässt sich erst erahnen. Berechtigte Furcht vor Ansteckung, generelle Angst vor Berührung, lebhafte Vorstellungen von invasiven Viren und Mutationen zeichnen sich jetzt schon ab.

Der Kurator, Dramaturg und Künstler Tobias Staab erarbeitete gemeinsam mit Tänzer*innen des Ballet of Difference die Videoinstallation Trans Corporal Formations, die sowohl Kontaktvermeidung als auch extreme Nähe thematisiert. Dabei geht Tobias Staab vor allem auf die Suche nach den transformativen Potenzialen des tanzenden Körpers. Im Durchlaufen unterschiedlicher Formen erscheint der tanzende Körper als Ort der Utopie, an dem sich die Differenz einer binär strukturierten Geschlechtlichkeit genauso auflöst wie die Grenzen zwischen Menschlichem und Nichtmenschlichem, zwischen analoger Wirklichkeit und virtueller Realität.

Die einzelnen Tänzer*innen erscheinen dabei isoliert voneinander in jeweils einem der fünf Screens. Gemeinschaft, Interaktion und Berührung sind nur im Digitalen möglich, das auf diese Weise zu einem essentiellen Teil der Choreografie wird. Die Klänge, die durch die Körper der Tänzer*innen erzeugt wurden, hat der Münchner Komponist Benedikt Brachtel aufgenommen und akustisch vergrößert, um sie zu einer musikalischen Collage des Körpers zu arrangieren, wie Tobias Staab formuliert.

Das Konzept von Trans Corporal Formations entwickelte Tobias Staab in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Bühnenbildnerin Nadja Sofie Eller. Die besondere Dimension der Körperlichkeit wurde durch die surrealen Kostüme der Kostümbildnerin Annika Lu Hermann erzeugt, die dann durch einen von dem Künstler Michael Saup entwickelten Algorithmus (Timewarp Choreography) noch im Digitalen verstärkt wurden. Die Kamera führte der Münchner Videokünstler Florian Schaumberger.

Als Spezialist für die Schnittstelle zwischen experimenteller elektronischer Musik, Tanz, installativen und performativen Künsten lanciert und kuratiert Tobias Staab zahlreiche Programme und Festivals (Ruhrtriennale, Ritournelle, Noise Signal Silence, Panta Rhei, Bauhaus Club 2.019: Hyper.Culture, Dive Festival für immersive Künste). Mit dem Choreografen Richard Siegal gründetet er 2016 die Tanzkompanie Ballet of Difference. Seit 2019 arbeitet er als Regisseur im Grenzgebiet zwischen Performance, Tanz und Film. Trans Corporal Formations ermöglicht das Eintauchen in audio-visuelle Darstellungen des tanzenden Körpers - transformiert durch Pixel und Glitches (kurzzeitige Störungen), hörbar gemacht in einem immersiven Sound-Space.
 

Donnerstag, 06. Mai 2021, 16-22 Uhr
Freitag, 07. Mai 2021, 16-22 Uhr
Samstag, 08. Mai 2021, 16-22 Uhr
Sonntag, 09. Mai 2021, 12-20 Uhr

Blitz Club (tbc.)

Regie, Schnitt und Konzept: Tobias Staab
Choreografie: Tobias Staab in Zusammenarbeit mit den Tänzer*innen von Richard Siegal / Ballet of Difference
Szenographie und Konzept: Nadja Sofie Eller
Kostüme: Annika Lu Hermann
Kamera: Florian Schaumberger
Licht: Jan Steinfatt
Musik: Benedikt Brachtel
Timewarp Choreographie: Michael Saup 

Tänzer*innen: Black Pearl De Almeida Lima, Livia Gil, Andrea Mocciardini, Evan Supple. Long Zou

In Koproduktion mit DANCE, Ballet of Difference, Muffatwerk München und dem Schauspiel Köln.
Gefördert durch das Kulturreferat München.

  BoDSchauspiel Köln    Kulturreferat München Muffatwerk