Greetings

Anton Biebl

Anton Biebl by Tobias Hase

Dear Friends of the Dance Festival,

DANCE is, alongside the theater festival Spielart, the music theater festival Biennale, the film festival Filmfest München, and the literature festival Literaturfest, one of the large festivals the City of Munich organizes and significantly sponsors. These festivals bring international contemporary productions to Munich, they thrill audiences and inspire artists. Their special flair comes from the encounters and exchanges, from the close proximity to the artists, and from the intensive, concentrated programs.

For over a year now we have been, however, forced to practice distancing and avoiding personal contact. How can one organize the DANCE festival under these conditions? Viewing world premieres around the globe has to be done without being able to travel, invitations can only be extended when pandemic-conform performance versions have been conceived, plans for productions have to be adapted to the various countries' continuously changing entry and quarantine regulations, and flight and hotel bookings remain precarious up until the last minute. Everything is constantly in motion – but in a completely different way than we would usually associate with a dance event.

We miss the art of dance, which creates extremely special moments. DANCE will make such moments possible in 2021 as well – I am sure of that. Choreographers with connections to Munich such as Richard Siegal, Anna Konietzky, and Ceren Oran will dignify the festival with their presence. There will be a reunion with artists like Raimand Hoghe, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, and the Israeli duo Niv Sheinfeld & Oren Laor. There will also be a focus on age with a retrospective presented by the dance company "Dance On" from Berlin. The ensemble consists of experienced dancers over 40 years old. Diversity is also playing – and rightly so – an increasingly more important role in dance.

We are looking forward to a multifaceted festival program, the latest interpretations in contemporary dance, eagerly anticipated highlights, and very, very special moments.

Anton Biebl
Director, Department of Arts and Culture


Nina Hümpel

Nina Hümpel by Jean-Marc Turmes

Dear Readers,

The dance company from South Korea will thrill us with a digital performance that includes a live intervention, but it will be analogue – they won't be able to make it to a stage in Munich. The Israeli dancers and the choreographer from New York have been vaccinated, but they still are not allowed to perform here. Under what circumstances can the companies from all over the world perform for us? On a stage in front of an audience, as a live performance on the internet, or in a public space? How can you celebrate a dance festival without wild celebrations?

Questions and more questions, which make simple answers and solutions impossible due to the current situation in our society. Rarely have we as persons and artists been so insecure as we are today. Never before were so many grand concepts so temporary, were plans made and then after a short period of time overturned again or altered.

After working on extremely different scenarios the past months we will be presenting you in the coming eleven days of the festival a comprehensive digital program; five of these productions are in collaboration with Münchner Kammerspiele. Several productions will be danced live by the respective companies and you can watch them in your living rooms via streaming, and other productions will be shown in high-quality film versions. We have put together exciting film documentations on the choreographers who unfortunately couldn't present their works in a digital form; the film documentations will be accompanied by live conversations with the artists. In addition, we are pleased to have projects on our program that were created especially for the digital realm. All of this can be booked and viewed this year not only locally in Munich, but also worldwide.

Everything is different with this DANCE festival and will constantly be adapted anew to the situation. In our online magazine we offer you the opportunity to participate in the different planning stages and gain in-depth insights into DANCE 2021 by reading the interviews with the festival artists and reports on the performances and themes.

Enjoy reading the magazine, and we'll see you soon at DANCE 2021 on the internet!

Grußworte

Anton Biebl

Anton Biebl by Tobias HaseLiebe Dance-Freund*innen,

DANCE ist neben Spielart, Biennale, Filmfest oder Literaturfest eines der großen Festivals, das die Stadt München veranstaltet und maßgeblich fördert. Diese Festivals bringen internationale zeitgenössische Produktionen hierher, begeistern das Publikum und inspirieren Künstler*innen. Das Zusammenkommen und der Austausch, die Nähe zu den Künstler*innen und eine intensive Programmdichte sind es, die das besondere Flair ausmachen.

Seit über einem Jahr sind wir jedoch zur Distanz und zum Abstand gezwungen. Wie macht man unter diesen Bedingungen ein DANCE-Festival? Die weltweite Sichtung von Uraufführungen muss ohne Reisen stattfinden, Einladungen können nur erfolgen, wenn pandemiekonforme Aufführungsversionen mitgedacht werden, laufend wechselnde Einreise- und Quarantäne-Bedingungen sind mit Produktionsplänen zu vereinbaren, Flug- und Hotelbuchungen bleiben bis zuletzt unsicher. Alles ist ständig in Bewegung – aber auf ganz andere Weise, als wir es sonst mit einem Tanzereignis assoziieren würden.

Wir vermissen die Tanzkunst, die ganz besondere Momente erschafft. DANCE wird solche Momente auch 2021 ermöglichen, da bin ich mir sicher. Mit München verbundene Choreograf*innen wie Richard Siegal, Anna Konietzky oder Ceren Oran geben dem Festival die Ehre. Es wird ein Wiedersehen geben mit Künstler*innen wie Raimund Hoghe, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker oder dem israelische Duo Niv Sheinfeld & Oren Laor. Daneben steht das Thema Alter mit einer Werkschau der Tanzkompanie „Dance On“ aus Berlin im Fokus. Das Ensemble besteht aus erfahrenen Tänzer*innen über 40. Diversität spielt zurecht auch im Tanz eine immer wichtigere Rolle.

Freuen wir uns auf ein vielfältiges Festivalprogramm, neueste Interpretationen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes, auf lang ersehnte Highlights und ganz besondere Momente.

Anton Biebl
Kulturreferent der Landeshauptstadt München


Nina Hümpel

Nina Hümpel by Jean-Marc Turmes

Liebe Leser*innen!

Die Tanzkompanie aus Südkorea wird uns mit einer digitalen Vorstellung samt Live-Intervention begeistern, doch analog - bis auf die Bühne nach München hat sie es nicht geschafft. Die israelischen Tänzer und die Choreografin aus New York sind geimpft, im öffentlichen Raum dürfen sie aber trotzdem nicht auftreten. Unter welchen Umständen können die Kompanien aus aller Welt bei uns präsentiert werden? Auf der Bühne vor Publikum, als Live-Performance im Internet oder im öffentlichen Raum? Wie feiert man ein Tanzfestival, ohne wilde Feste zu feiern?

Fragen über Fragen, die einfache Antworten und Lösungen in unserer aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Situation derzeit unmöglich machen. Selten waren wir als Menschen und als Kunstschaffende so verunsichert wie heute. Noch nie waren so viele großartige Konzepte so vorläufig, wurden Pläne geschmiedet und dann kurzfristig wieder umgeworfen oder verändert.

Nachdem wir in den vergangenen Monaten auf verschiedenste Szenarien hingearbeitet haben, zeigen wir Ihnen in den kommenden elf Festivaltagen ein umfangreiches digitales Programm, davon fünf Produktionen in Kooperation mit den Münchner Kammerspielen. Einige Produktionen werden live von den Kompanien getanzt und in Ihre Wohnzimmer gestreamt, andere wiederum werden als hochwertig produzierte Filmversionen gezeigt. Zu den Choreograf*innen, die ihre Arbeiten leider nicht digital präsentieren können, haben wir spannende Filmdokumentationen zusammengestellt, die von Live-Gesprächen mit den Künstler*innen begleitet werden. Außerdem freuen wir uns, eigens für den digitalen Raum kreierte Projekte im Programm zu haben. All das kann in diesem Jahr nicht nur lokal in München, sondern weltweit gebucht und gesehen werden.

Alles ist anders bei diesem DANCE-Festival und wird ständig neu auf die Situation angepasst. In unserem Online-Magazin lassen wir Sie an den verschiedenen Stadien der Planung teilhaben und bieten Ihnen in Interviews mit Festivalkünstler*innen und Berichten über Vorstellungen und Themen einen tiefen Einblick in DANCE 2021.

Viel Freude beim Lesen und bis bald im Internet bei DANCE 2021!