Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Documentaries about the work of Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Mitten / Hoppla! / Rain (Films)

Instead of the originally planned Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 DANCE presents to you three different films about the work of Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker:


Mitten (Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, 2019)

Mitten follows the final weeks of rehearsal of Mitten wir im Leben sind, a performance by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, her company Rosas and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras, based on the six cello suites by Johann Sebastian Bach. The film offers an intimate glance into De Keersmaeker’s meticulous methodology, in which a choreographic universe is built up through a careful study of musical composition. This intense creative process of continuously reshaping and honing, characterised by De Keersmaeker’s inexhaustible longing for precision and detail, is reflected in the filmmakers’ patient look at the work of the choreographer, the musician and dancers.

A Film by: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / With: Boštjan Antoncic, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Image: Olivia Rochette / Sound: Lennert De Taeye / Producer: Rasmus Van Heddeghem, Ruben Desiere / Editing: Dieter Diependaele / Music: Johann Sebastian Bach 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 / Sound Editing: Sabrina Calmels / Sound Mix: Aline Gavroy / Colour Correction: Raphaëlle Dufosset / Production: Accattone films / Co-Production: 24images, Mezzo, Kaaitheater & De Munt / La Monnaie, Sadler’s Wells / With the Support of: Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds (VAF), Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée, Canvas, RTBF, Le Mans Télévision


Hoppla! (Wolfgang Kolb,1989)

In Hoppla!, two choreographies by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker are brought together and performed to the music of the Hungarian composer Béla Bartók: Mikrokosmos, seven short works for two pianos, and Quatuor no. 4, Bartók’s fourth string quartet. The reading room of the Ghent University library, designed by the renowned architect Henry Van de Velde, serves as location. In the film the music is performed live by the pianists Walter Hus and Stefan Poelmans on the one hand and by the Dutch Mondriaan Quartet on the other. Mikrokosmos is a “pas de deux”: for the first time a male dancer enters Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s universe. Four women dancers perform to the string quartet. In Van de Velde’s open space lit by large windows, the black clothing of the dancers sharply outlines their movements. One senses an immense complicity between the musicians and the dancers: the exhilaration of playing music together and dancing simultaneously is as it were the artistic motor of this project. In Hoppla!, Bartók’s dansant music, De Keersmaeker’s inventive choreography, Van de Velde’s austere space, and Wolfgang Kolb’s dynamic editing merge into one enormous convincing composition.

A Film by: Wolfgang Kolb / With: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Luc Ducourt, Nadine Ganase, Roxane Huilmand, Fumiyo Ikeda, Johanne Saunier / Image: Remon Fromont, Philippe Guilbert, Philippe Maendly / Sound: Ricardo Castro / Editing: Rudi Maerten / Music: Béla Bartók / Production: A.O. producties / Co-Production: Kaaitheater, Rosas, La Sept, Arcanal, Zed ltd / With the Support of: het Ministerie van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Le Cargo Grenoble, BRTN / In Association with: Canal 4, NDR, NOS, Théâtre de la Ville, RTBF


Rain (Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, 2012)

On 25th May 2011 the world-renowned Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris presented Rain, its first ever performance of a choreography by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. The filmmakers Olivia Rochette and Gerard-Jan Claes followed the rehearsal process from the auditions to the opening performance. The documentary focuses on how De Keersmaeker and the Rosas dancers convey the dance idiom of the choreographer to the classically trained ballet dancers. The rigidity of ballet gives way to another kind of severity, namely the mathematical pattern of Rain, which, however, conceals a powerful emotional layering. A poetic documentary about searching, looking and hesitating within the walls of the opera, which at times can be claustrophobic.

A Film by: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / With: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Leonore Baulac, Jakub Truszkowski / Image: Olivia Rochette / Sound: Gerard-Jan Claes / Producer: Bart Van Langendonck / Editing: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, Dieter Diependaele / Music: ‘Music for 18 Musicians' by Steve Reich performed by Ictus & Synergy Vocals / Sound Editing: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / Sound Mix: Thierry De Vries / Colour Correction: Reinder Vankeerbergen / Production: Savage Film / Co-Production: Sciapode, Opéra national de Paris / With the Support of: Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF), CNC, the Media Development Program of the E.U., the Belgian tax shelter for film financing (investor: B-architecten) / In Association with: Eyeworks

MittenFriday, May 7, 2021, 5 to 6 p.m.
Video Stream
4.30 p.m. Artist Talk with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Hoppla: Saturday, May 8, 2021, 7 to 8 p.m. 
Video Stream
6.30 p.m. Artist Talk with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Rain.: Sunday, May 9, 2021, 7 to 8.30 p.m. 
Video Stream
in Dutch, English & French
6.30 p.m. Artist Talk with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker: "The Goldberg Variations" - © Anne van Aerschot

Dokumentationen über die Arbeit von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Mitten / Hoppla! / Rain (Filme)

An Stelle der ursprünglich geplanten Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 zeigt DANCE Ihnen drei unterschiedliche Filme über die Arbeit von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker:


Mitten (Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, 2019)

Mitten verfolgt die letzten Wochen der Proben an Mitten wir im Leben sind, eine Performance von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, ihrer Kompanie Rosas und dem Cellisten Jean-Guihen Queyras, basierend auf den sechs Cello-Suiten von Johann Sebastian Bach. Der Film bietet einen intimen Blick in De Keersmaekers sorgfältige Methodik, bei der sie durch die haargenaue Beschäftigung mit musikalischen Kompositionen ein choreografisches Universum aufbaut. Dieser intensive kreative Prozess, in dem sie ihre Arbeit kontinuierlich neu formt und verfeinert, was aus De Keersmaekers unerschöpflichem Verlangen nach Präzision und Detailtreue resultiert, wird von den Filmmacher*innen durch die gründliche Beobachtung der Choreografin, des Musikers und der Tänzer*innen reflektiert.

Ein Film von: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / Mit: Boštjan Antoncic, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Bild: Olivia Rochette / Ton: Lennert De Taeye / Produzenten: Rasmus Van Heddeghem, Ruben Desiere / Schnitt: Dieter Diependaele / Musik: Johann Sebastian Bach 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012 / Tonbearbeitung: Sabrina Calmels / Tonmischung: Aline Gavroy / Farbkorrektur: Raphaëlle Dufosset / Produktion: Accattone films / Koproduktion: 24images, Mezzo, Kaaitheater & De Munt / La Monnaie, Sadler’s Wells / Mit der Unterstützung von: Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds (VAF), Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée, Canvas, RTBF, Le Mans Télévision


Hoppla! (Wolfgang Kolb, 1989)

In Hoppla! werden zwei Choreografien von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker vereint und zur Musik des ungarischen Komponisten Béla Bartók (Mikrokosmos, sieben kurze Werke für zwei Klaviere, und Quatuor no. 4, sein Quartett für vier Streicher) aufgeführt. Der Leseraum der Genter Universitätsbibliothek im Design des renommierten Architekten Henry Van de Velde wird als Bühne genutzt. Die Musik wird im Film live von den Pianisten Walter Hus und Stefan Poelmans und dem niederländischen Mondriaan Streichquartett gespielt. Mikrokosmos ist ein „pas de deux“: zum ersten Mal betritt ein männlicher Tänzer Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers Universum. Vier Tänzerinnen tanzen zum Streichquartett. In Van de Veldes offenem Raum, der durch große Fenster erhellt wird, schärfen die schwarzen Kostüme die Bewegungen der Tänzer*innen. Die tiefe Verbundenheit der Musiker*innen und Tänzer*innen wird spürbar: der Rausch durch das gemeinsame Musizieren und Tanzen scheint der künstlerische Motor des Projekts zu werden. In Hoppla! verschmelzen Bartóks tänzerische Musik, De Keersmaekers innovative Choreografie, Van de Veldes nüchterner Raum und Wolfgang Kolbs dynamischer Schnitt zu einer gewaltigen überzeugenden Komposition.

Ein Film von: Wolfgang Kolb / Mit: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Luc Ducourt, Nadine Ganase, Roxane Huilmand, Fumiyo Ikeda, Johanne Saunier / Image: Remon Fromont, Philippe Guilbert, Philippe Maendly / Ton: Ricardo Castro / Schnitt: Rudi Maerten / Musik: Béla Bartók / Produktion: A.O. producties / Koproduktion: Kaaitheater, Rosas, La Sept, Arcanal, Zed ltd / Mit der Unterstützung von: het Ministerie van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Le Cargo Grenoble, BRTN / In Zusammenarbeit mit: Canal 4, NDR, NOS, Théâtre de la Ville, RTBF


Rain (Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, 2012)

Am 25. Mai 2011 präsentierte das weltweit bekannte Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris Rain, ihre erste Aufführung einer Choreografie von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Die Filmmacher*innen Olivia Rochette und Gerard-Jan Claes verfolgten den Probenprozess von den Auditions bis zur Premiere. Die Dokumentation fokussiert sich darauf, wie De Keersmaeker und die Rosas-Tänzer*innen die tänzerische Sprache der Choreografin den klassisch ausgebildeten Balletttänzer*innen vermitteln. Die Starrheit des Balletts öffnet den Weg für eine neue Art der Strenge in Form des mathematischen Schemas von Rain, wodurch wiederum kraftvolle Emotionen entstehen. Eine poetische Dokumentation über das Suchen und Zögern in den Hallen der Oper, die manchmal einengend sein können.

Ein Film von: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / Mit: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Leonore Baulac, Jakub Truszkowski / Image: Olivia Rochette / Sound: Gerard-Jan Claes / Produzent: Bart Van Langendonck / Schnitt: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes, Dieter Diependaele / Musik: ‘Music for 18 Musicians' by Steve Reich performed by Ictus & Synergy Vocals / Tonbearbeitung: Olivia Rochette, Gerard-Jan Claes / Tonmischung: Thierry De Vries / Farbkorrektur: Reinder Vankeerbergen / Produktion: Savage Film / Koproduktion: Sciapode, Opéra national de Paris / Mit der Unterstützung von: Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF), CNC, the Media Development Program of the E.U., the Belgian tax shelter for film financing (investor: B-architecten) / In Zusammenarbeit mit: Eyeworks

Mitten: Freitag, 07. Mai 2021, 17 – 18 Uhr 
Video-Stream
16.30 Uhr Artist Talk mit Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Hoppla!: Samstag, 08. Mai 2021, 19 – 20 Uhr 
Video-Stream, 
18.30 Uhr Artist Talk mit Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Rain.: Sonntag, 09. Mai 2021, 19 – 20.30 Uhr 
Video-Stream
auf Niederländisch, Englisch & Französisch
18.30 Uhr Artist Talk mit Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker