Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran (Digital World Premiere)

The Urge

When the initial state of shock during the first lockdown in March 2020 dissolved, stages shifted onto the internet. The urge to dance and stay visible found an outlet in social media. People danced in their own personal environments: performed moves between the bed and wardrobe, or a classical variation in front of the kitchen counter, or a release technique on the balcony. As a soloist. Pandemically. Posted on social media. The Munich choreographer Ceren Oran will develop her new project "The Urge" from such discoveries: she will translate the movement material from the internet for a collective and in public spaces. The performers will dance simultaneously in Munich, Berlin, and Cologne, and it will be a livestreaming.

During DANCE 2019 Ceren Oran presented her lengthy performance "Who is Frau Troffea" at public spaces in the city. The successful site-specific performance was inspired by the "dance mania" that flourished in 1518 in the streets of Strasburg that supposedly infected more and more people. The closeness to and random encounter with various members of the audience fascinated Oran as much as the daily challenges the artists faced over seven long hours from the wind, weather, and asphalt. In "The Urge" the choreographer, who works in Munich, will also examine the dynamics and the relationships of exchanges in collective movements and individual movements, which – as we all have experienced – were suppressed by the Covid-19 situation during the past months. The urge to use a space again, to occupy a spot, to spend unlimited time in municipal spaces provides Ceren Oran with a choreographic structure. The accompanying music is from her partner in art for many years, Huseyin Evirgen, whose electronic compositions provide the basic rhythmic structure for "The Urge," and also from a soloist musician, who will be invited to every performance and will play live.

With the permission of the authors, Ceren Oran transposes the movement sequences from social media into public spaces and into a temporal length that is much longer than the original video clip. At the same time, she feeds the transformed material via livestreaming simultaneously back onto the internet. In order to make this possible, Ceren Oran will work with her colleagues Rotem Weismann in Berlin and Mayan Reiter in Cologne. The performances will take place simultaneously in all three cities – overcoming (city) boundaries – and to stress the pandemic as a global phenomenon: We´re all in this together!

Saturday, May 8, 2021, 3 – 3.30 p.m. & 6 – 6.30 p.m.
Live Stream

Sunday, May 16, 2021, 3 to 10 p.m.
Video Stream (available from 3 to 10 p.m.)
Access for free

7.30 p.m. Artist Talk with Ceren Oran

 

Concept, Artistic Dirction, Choreography: Ceren Oran
Choreographic Collaboration: Maayan Reiter, Rotem Weismann
Dance: Jin Lee, Uwe Brauns, Laura Manz, Jihun Choi, Lena Klink (Munich), Maayan Reiter, Margherita Dello Sbarba, Paula Niehoff, Lucas Lopes Pereira, Hayato Yamaguchi (Cologne), Rotem Weismann, Lukas Malkowski, Woo-Sang Jeon, Susanna Ylikoski, Ariel Hayoun (Berlin)
Music: Hüseyin Evirgen (Electronics) Jeannot Salvatori (Saxophone), Jean Baptiste Charlot (Flute), Simon Couratier (Saxophone)
Dramaturgcal Accompaniment: Karolina Hejnova
Artistic Production Management: Rat&Tat – Kulturbüro
Production Assistance: Caroline Skibinski, Florian Greß
Technological Management: Peer Quednau
PR: Simone Lutz

The unisono parts of the choreography are based on the lockdown videos by Phil Hulford, Sofia Pouchtou, Clementine Herveux, Elisa Ruffato, Kamola Rashidova, Renan Martins Oliveira, Anina Labanidze, Rose Ellen Lewis, Jin Lee

This production is funded by the Cultural Department of the City of Munich and the DANCE Festival Munich. Supported by NATIONALES PERFORMANE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, funded by the federal government commissioner for culture and media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Programme of Assistance Dance. In co-operation with the HochX theater and Live Art. Ceren Oran is a member of Tanztendenz München e.V.

Kulturreferat MünchenBKM   NPNNeustart Kultur   HochX    Tschechisches ZentrumTanzbüro  Rat und Tat  Tanztendenz    Urbane Mitte

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran: "The Urge" - © Dieter Hartwig

Ceren Oran

The Urge (UA)

Als sich die anfängliche Schockstarre im ersten Lockdown im März 2020 löste, verlagerten sich die Bühnen ins Netz. Der Drang (auf Englisch "urge") zu tanzen und sichtbar zu bleiben, fand ein Ventil in den sozialen Medien. Menschen tanzten in ihrem privaten Umfeld: Moves zwischen Bett und Schrank, eine klassische Variation vor Küchenzeile, Release auf dem Balkon. Solistisch. Pandemisch. Hochgeladen in den sozialen Medien. Die Münchner Choreografin Ceren Oran entwickelt aus solchen Funden ihr neuestes Projekt The Urge: Das Bewegungsmaterial aus dem Netz übersetzt sie für ein Kollektiv und in den öffentlichen Raum. Getanzt wird simultan in München, Berlin und Köln, und es wird live gestreamt.

Bei DANCE 2019 bespielte Ceren Oran öffentliche Plätze in der Stadt mit ihrer Langzeit-Performance „Who is Frau Troffea“. Die erfolgreiche Site-specific-Performance war von der "Tanzwut" inspiriert, die 1518 in Straßburger Straßen grassierte und immer mehr Menschen infiziert haben soll. Die Nähe zu und beiläufige Begegnung mit unterschiedlichen Zuschauer*innen faszinierten Oran ebenso wie die Herausforderungen, die Wind, Wetter und Asphalt über sieben lange Stunden den Künstler*innen täglich bescherten. Auch für The Urge untersucht die in München arbeitende Choreografin Dynamiken und Austauschverhältnisse von kollektiver und individueller Bewegung, die - wie wir alle erfahren haben - durch die Covid-19-Situation in den vergangenen Monaten unterdrückt wurden. Dem Drang, endlich wieder Raum zu nehmen, Plätze zu besetzen, unbeschränkt Zeit im öffentlichen Raum zu verbringen, verleiht Ceren Oran choreografische Gestalt. Musikalisch begleitet wird sie von ihrem langjährigen künstlerischen Partner Huseyin Evirgen, dessen elektronische Komposition die rhythmische Grundstruktur für The Urge liefert, sowie einem Live-Solo-Musiker, der zu jeder Aufführung eingeladen wird.

Mit Genehmigung der Autor*innen transponiert Ceren Oran die Bewegungssequenzen aus den sozialen Medien in den öffentlichen Raum und in eine zeitliche Dauer, die wesentlich länger ist als der originale Clip. Zugleich speist sie das transformierte Material per Live-Streaming simultan wieder zurück ins Netz. Um das zu ermöglichen, arbeitet Ceren Oran mit ihren Kolleginnen Rotem Weismann in Berlin und Maayan Reiter in Köln zusammen. In allen drei Städten werden die Performances zeitgleich stattfinden, (Stadt-)Grenzen überwindend - auch um die Globalität der Pandemie zu betonen: We Are All In This Together.

Samstag, 08. Mai 2021, 15 & 18 Uhr
Odeonsplatz (tbc.)

Samstag, 15. Mai 2021, 16 Uhr
Kreativquartier (tbc.)

 

Konzept, künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie: Ceren Oran
Choreographische Kollaboration: Mayaan Reiter, Rotem Weismann
Tanz: Jin Lee, Uwe Brauns, Laura Manz, Jihun Choi, Lena Klink (München), Maayan Reiter, Margherita Dello Sbarba, Paula Niehoff, Lucas Lopes Pereira, Hayato Yamaguchi (Köln), Rotem Weismann, Lukas Malkowski, Woo-Sang Jeon, Susanna Ylikoski, Ariel Hayoun (Berlin)
Musik: Hüseyin Evirgen (Electronics) Jeannot Salvatori (Saxophon), Jean Baptiste Charlot (Flöte), Simon Couratier (Saxophon)
Dramaturgische Begleitung: Karolina Hejnova
Künstlerische Produktionsleitung: Rat&Tat - Kulturbüro
Produktionsassistenz: Caroline Skibinski, Florian Greß
Technische Leitung: Peer Quednau
PR: Simone Lutz

Die Unisono-Parts der Choreografie basieren auf den Lockdown-Videos von Phil Hulford, Sofia Pouchtou, Clementine Herveux, Elisa Ruffato, Kamola Rashidova, Renan Martins Oliveira, Anina Labanidze, Rose Ellen Lewis, Jin Lee.

Diese Produktion wird gefördert durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München und das DANCE Festival München. Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ - STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz. In Kooperation mit HochX Theater und Live Art. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Teilresidenzprogramms der Tanzfabrik Berlin. Ceren Oran ist Mitglied von Tanztendenz München e.V.

Kulturreferat MünchenBKM   NPNNeustart Kultur   HochX    Tschechisches ZentrumTanzbüro  Rat und Tat  Tanztendenz