Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Niv Sheinfeld & Oren Laor

Big Mouth

In harmony, next to one another. In lock-step, and it turns into a march. Two men and a woman move in unison. They walk, start doing folk dance steps. The woman, Keren Levi, wears a blouse and a skirt in the national colors of Israel. She varies her pattern of movement, steps out of line briefly, and the men watch her. She integrates herself again, touches her partners, who approach her and bring her back into the state of conformity. The piece "Big Mouth" was developed in 2009 in collaboration with Keren Levi by the Israeli duo Niv Sheinfeld and Oren Laor, and it embodies the tension between individual desires to move and the power the movements of marching have to draw one in, between personal development and collective strength. The three of them hold each other, stay close to one another until it isn't possible anymore, and the woman distorts her mouth into a scream and in the end leaves the men standing there.

The short piece "Big Mouth" deals with the desire to develop oneself in fixed structures and the tensions that are created from this. The consonance of marching with arms swinging almost has a calming effect. The marching people are not exercising a martial "right-left-right-left" pattern, but rather come together in a calm, mutual motion that may tolerate short disruptions, but in the end does not allow them to continue in the long run. According to the critic Elisabeth Nehring, the piece illustrates "how Israel's society functions in its core and in its entire ambivalence."

Sheinfeld, born in 1972, was a dancer in Liat Dror and Nir Ben Gal's company, and he created choreographies for Batsheva Ensemble and Kibbutz Dance Company, among others. Oren Laor, born in 1971, studied acting and drama at Tel Aviv University. The two became a couple in 2002, and started creating together in 2004; they are based in Tel Aviv.

They have already performed in 2015 at the DANCE festival, when they showed "Two Room Apartment." For "Big Mouth" they had their colleague of the same age, Keren Levi, join them. She went through a similar dance socialization as Sheinfeld, and for the past two decades she has been living and working as a choreographer in Amsterdam.

Wednesday, May 12, 2021, 6 p.m.
Live Stream Tickets 

Thursday, May 13, 2021, 3.30 p.m.
Video Stream Tickets

Thursday, May 13, 2021, 6 p.m.
Video Stream Tickets 

HERE TO THE STREAMS

Artist Talk with Seinfeld & Laor on May 14, 4.45 p.m. at the symposium Articulate! Activate! Protest!

By and with: Niv Sheinfeld, Oren Laor, and Keren Levi
Coproduction with: Grand Theatre Groningen
Original music and editing: Didi Erez
Music: Ori Vidislavski, Effi Netzer
Light design: Netta Koren
Rehearsal manager: Karmit Buryan
Photos: Gadi Dagon

Israeli Ministry of Culture Tel Aviv Municipality  Israel LotterySuzanne Dellal CentreTmuna TheatreGrand Theatre Groningen

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Sheinfeld & Laor: "Big Mouth" - © Gadi Dagon

Niv Sheinfeld & Oren Laor

Big Mouth

Im Einklang nebeneinander. Der Gleichschritt wird zum Marsch. Zwei Männer und eine Frau bewegen sich unisono. Sie gehen, fallen in Volkstanzschritte. Die Frau, Keren Levi, trägt Bluse und Rock in israelischen Landesfarben. Sie variiert das Bewegungsmuster, schert kurz aus, die Männer sehen ihr zu. Sie gliedert sich wieder ein, berührt ihre Partner, die ihr entgegentreten, sie zurückholen in die Konformität. Das bereits 2009 in Kollaboration mit Keren Levi entstandene Stück Big Mouth des israelischen Duos Niv Sheinfeld und Oren Laor verkörpert die Spannung zwischen individueller Bewegungslust und dem Sog der Marschbewegung, zwischen persönlicher Entfaltung und kollektiver Stärke. Die drei halten sich, bleiben beieinander, bis es nicht mehr geht, die Frau den Mund zum Schrei verzerrt und schließlich die Männer allein zurücklässt.

Das kurze Stück Big Mouth verhandelt den Wunsch nach Selbstentfaltung in festen Strukturen und die Spannungen, die daraus entstehen. Der Gleichklang des Marschierens mit schwingenden Armen wirkt fast entspannt. Die Marschierenden exerzieren kein martialisches "Rechts-links-rechts-links", sondern finden sich in einem ruhigen gemeinsamen Bewegen zusammen, das kurze Ausbrüche zwar toleriert, letztlich aber doch nicht auf Dauer gestattet. Das Stück zeige, so die Kritikerin Elisabeth Nehring, "wie Israels Gesellschaft im Inneren und in ihrer ganzen Ambivalenz funktioniert".

Sheinfeld, Jahrgang 1972, war Tänzer in der Kompanie von Liat Dror und Nir Ben Gal und choreografierte unter anderem für die Kibbutz Dance Company und Batsheva. Oren Laor, geboren 1971, studierte Schauspiel und Drama an der Universität Tel Aviv. 2002 wurden die beiden ein Paar und zwei Jahr später gründeten sie das in Tel Aviv ansässige Duo Sheinfeld & Laor.

Bei DANCE 2015 waren sie bereits mit Two Room Apartment zu sehen. Für Big Mouth holten sie ihre gleichaltrige Kollegin Keren Levi dazu. Sie durchlief eine vergleichbare tänzerische Sozialisation wie Sheinfeld, lebt und arbeitet aber seit zwei Jahrzehnten als Choreografin in Amsterdam.

Mittwoch, 12. Mai 2021, 18 Uhr
Donnerstag, 13. Mai 2021, 15:30 & 18 Uhr

schwere reiter (tbc.)

Von und mit: Niv Sheinfeld, Oren Laor, Keren Levi
Koproduktion mit: Grand Theatre Groningen
Originalmusik & Bearbeitung: Didi Erez
Musik: Ori Vidislavski, Effi Netzer
Lichtdesign: Netta Koren
Probenleitung: Karmit Buryan
Fotos: Gadi Dagon

Israeli Ministry of Culture Tel Aviv Municipality  Israel LotterySuzanne Dellal CentreTmuna TheatreGrand Theatre Groningen